A Burger With Obama

So I had two goals I wanted to accomplish when I set out for my vacation in the foreign and exotic land known as Hawaii: Catch up with Barack Obama and learn to surf.

I accomplished the first one when I walked into Kua Aina Sandwich Shop and Obama was in front of me in line. He told me to go ahead of him because he didn’t know what he wanted yet. How elitist is that? Not knowing what you want to order? I wouldn’t be surprised to learn he had Swiss cheese on his burger.

I passed up Obama’s offer to go ahead of him because I was waiting for Jennifer to park the car. By the time I got around to ordering, I was told by the guy behind the counter that he got the last avocado, so I couldn’t have one on my burger! I had to settle for a pineapple.

The Secret Service guys had all caught the Aloha spirit–they were decked out in casual wear rather than the dark suits. One of them kept telling me I was standing in the wrong place while I was snapping my photos. I thought about asking him some of the questions that Travis Bickle asked the Secret Service guys in Taxi Driver, but figured it would just get me detained.

The burgers, by the way, were great. We headed to another branch of Kua Aina on the North Shore the next day, but there was no sign of Obama.

I did see some footage of him body-surfing on the news last night. I’ll bet you won’t see John McCain doing something that undignified during his campaign.

And, in case you care, I did learn how to surf today, though I’m not ready for any 30-footers yet.

7 Responses

  1. Oh great! While Obama is chompin’ on an Euro-elitist “Swiss” cheese burger (with “French” fries no doubt) Ol’ McCain is invading the Soviet Union!! So what time is it in Hawaii when it’s 3:00 AM in DC?

    STOP WORLD WAR III, DON’T VOTE McCAIN!!!

  2. It’s embarassing enough that the press is in the bag for Obama (alledgedly. . .)

    Is it entirely necessary to use your free time to stalk the poor man while he is on vacation? I believe a few of us could pitch in to get you a lifesize cardboard cutout to place in your office if it would keep you here doing LOCAL political reporting where you belong. :)

  3. Coooool. I want a life-size cutout of Obama AND Nintzel.

  4. I want a life-size cutout of Clive Owen and Gustavo Arellano (Ask A Mexican) – although I saw him in person this weekend and he is a little on the skinny side. Nothing personal Nintz (and Hector) – but no Nintz cardboard for me… thanks.

  5. Trent-

    Geez, give Nintzel a break, he is on vacation, it’s not like the Weekly assigned him or something.

  6. YAWN!

    Jim, Jim, Jim,

    Will the man crush ever stop?

    What next? Are you going to camp out in front of his house and root through his garbage so you can get an empty dog food can?

    Plaaaaaeeeeze get a life!

  7. Tedski,

    snark

    noun

    Combination of “snide” and “remark”. Sarcastic comment(s).
    Also snarky (adj.) and snarkily (adv.)

    Republicans can do it as well.

    I would totally have cut in line in front of Obama for the last avacado. The audacity of exotic condiments.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

