UPDATE: Pima County Treasurer Beth Ford: There Is A Plan To Destroy RTA Ballots

Pima County Treasurer Beth Ford says she sent notice to the political parties last month that she would be destroying the 2006 RTA ballots unless she heard an objection by Friday, July 11.

Ford says she has held off on following the state law that requires the destruction of ballots six months after an election because the ballots were considered evidence in a lawsuit filed by the Pima County Democratic Party regarding whether electronic databases were public record.

“Now I’m stuck in a position where, ‘What do I do with the ballots?'” Ford says. “Now I’m violating state law because I didn’t destroy them. So I’m stuck in catch-22.”

Ford said that after consulting with the County Attorney’s Office, she sent notice to the political parties on June 27 that she planned to destroy the RTA ballots, which are now in storage. She gave the political parties until Friday, July 11, to raise an objection.

“If I receive an objection, then I can go to the courts so the courts can tell me what I’m supposed to do,” Ford says.

Ford says she did not consult with Pima County Administrator Chuck Huckelberry about destroying the ballots.

She says she has no position on whether the ballots should be destroyed.

“It’s fine with me if we keep them,” she says. “It’s fine with me if we destroy them.”

Leave a Reply

