ScrambleWatch Q&A: Republican Ann Day on Election Integrity

Republican Ann Day, who is seeking a third term on the Pima County Board of Supervisors, is facing a challenge in the Sept. 2 GOP primary from businessman Joe Higgins.

At first you voted against the release of the election database files requested by the Pima County Democratic Party. Then you changed your mind and even the election integrity folks changed their tune about you and publicly thanked you for your support. What happened?

I think I followed the advice from the IT Department and the County Attorney. We were told there were security issues. At first I went on the advice I was given. Then it made its way through the court system I began to recognize that security wasn’t really at issue, and if others are still concerned about that I think we’ve made changes in our procedures to make sure our elections are secure.

You know, we even turned to the Secretary of State’s office for advice and got nowhere. I even turned to my own Republican Party.

What area of transparency do you think the county needs to continue improving?

I think we’ve come a long way regarding transparency when I first came to the board. But I see there is more to change in the way to conduct our budget. We need to open up the process, and sit down as a board to figure out the priorities. We don’t get an opportunity to do that. Or put together a strategic plan or a long-term plan.

Your fellow Republican Ray Carroll has publicly said the supervisors need to run the elections. Do you agree?

I want to see us adopt the 11 changes we’ve proposed to improve our voting system. But I’m not sure about putting the elections back on the board entirely. It becomes very political. I’m glad we had the chance to look more closely at the Elections Division and the way it operated. I couldn’t believe some of the things that came out during the lawsuit. Now I believe we have more oversight.

Leave a Reply

