ScrambleWatch Q&A: Republican Marian McClure on Renewable Energy Standards

As a part of our coverage for the Arizona Corporation Commission race, ScrambleWatch asked Republican Marian McClure about the role of the agency in setting policy about clean energy.

Is the free market the proper mechanism to promote cleaner energy or should government be involved?

I think it’s a combination of both (the market, and government involvement). I think you need to incentivize and next year I will approach some of my colleagues about incentivizing the market to in fact make more of an investment into cleaner fuel, or cleaner electricity.

What do you think of the current Renewable Energy Standard?

Well, I wouldn’t try to change the Clean Energy Portfolio at all. I don’t know that I would have voted for it originally, because I don’t like mandates. But let’s face facts, if you’ve got TEP building a power plant, SRP doing the same thing and ARP doing it, those are the three biggest power companies, and I don’t know why we would want to do anything differently.

Leave a Reply

